Mercer County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide2016-06-27T18:14:24+00:00

Mercer County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide

Mercer County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on December 15, 1785 from Lincoln County. The county was named in honor of Hugh Mercer (1726–1777), Revolutionary War hero who was killed at the Battle of Princeton. Learn More About State of Kentucky History

Mercer County is bordered by Anderson County (north), Woodford County (northeast), Jessamine County (east), Garrard County (southeast), Boyle County (south), Washington County (west).

Mercer County Cities and Towns include Burgin, Harrodsburg, Salvisa, Talmage-Mayo.

A Map of Mercer County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mercer County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Mercer County, Kentucky Courthouse
Mercer County, KY Courthouse

The Mercer County Courthouse is located in Harrodsburg, Kentucky. A courthouse fire occurred on 15 May 1928. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mercer county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Mercer County, Kentucky Census Records

Mercer County, Kentucky Vital Records

Mercer County, Kentucky Resources

Mercer County, Kentucky External Links

Search Millions of Military Records