Lewis County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide2016-06-27T17:54:11+00:00

Lewis County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide

Lewis County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on December 2, 1806 from Mason County. The county was named in honor of Meriwether Lewis (1774–1809), explorer . Learn More About State of Kentucky History

Lewis County is bordered by Adams County, Ohio (north), Scioto County, Ohio (northeast), Greenup County (east), Carter County (southeast), Rowan County (south), Fleming County (southwest), Mason County (west).

Lewis County Cities and Towns include Concord, Vanceburg, Tollesboro, Cabin Creek, Garrison, Ribolt.

A Map of Lewis County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lewis County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Lewis County, Kentucky Courthouse
Lewis County, KY Courthouse

The Lewis County Courthouse is located in Vanceburg, Kentucky. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lewis county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Lewis County, Kentucky Census Records

Lewis County, Kentucky Vital Records

Lewis County, Kentucky Resources

Lewis County, Kentucky External Links

Search Millions of Military Records