Knott County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide2016-06-27T17:50:55+00:00

Knott County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide

Knott County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on May 5, 1884 from Perry County, Breathitt County, Floyd County and Letcher County. The county was named in honor of James Proctor Knott, twenty-ninth Governor of Kentucky (1883–1887). Learn More About State of Kentucky History

Knott County is bordered by Magoffin County (north), Floyd County (northeast), Pike County (east), Letcher County (south), Perry County (southwest), Breathitt County (northwest).

Knott County Cities and Towns include Hindman, Pippa Passes, Hollybush.

A Map of Knott County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Knott County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Knott County, Kentucky Courthouse
Knott County, KY Courthouse

The Knott County Courthouse is located in Hindman, Kentucky. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Knott county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Knott County, Kentucky Census Records

Knott County, Kentucky Vital Records

Knott County, Kentucky Resources

Knott County, Kentucky External Links

Search Millions of Military Records