Carter County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide2016-06-27T17:37:47+00:00

Carter County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide

Carter County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on April 10, 1838 from Greenup County and Lawrence County. The county was named in honor of William Grayson Carter, Kentucky state senator (1834–1838) . Learn More About State of Kentucky History

Carter County is bordered by Greenup County (northeast), Boyd County (east), Lawrence County (southeast), Elliott County (south), Rowan County (southwest), Lewis County (northwest).

Carter County Cities and Towns include Denton, Grahn, Grayson, Olive Hill, Rush (Part).

A Map of Carter County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Carter County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Carter County, Kentucky Courthouse
Carter County, KY Courthouse

The Carter County Courthouse is located in Grayson, Kentucky. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Carter county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Carter County, Kentucky Census Records

Carter County, Kentucky Vital Records

Carter County, Kentucky Resources

Carter County, Kentucky External Links

Search Millions of Military Records