Yavapai County, Arizona Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T16:34:51+00:00

Yavapai County, Arizona Genealogy Guide

Yavapai County, Arizona (Map It) was created on  December 21, 1864 and was one of the original 4 counties. Yavapai county was named after the Yavapai Native American people, who are from central Arizona. Learn More About State of Arizona History

Yavapai County is bordered by Mohave County (west), La Paz County (southwest), Maricopa County (south), Gila County (east), Coconino County (north/northeast).

Yavapai County Cities and Towns include Cottonwood, Peoria, Prescott, Sedona, Camp Verde, Chino Valley, Clarkdale, Dewey-Humboldt, Jerome, Prescott Valley. Unincorporated Communities located in the county include Bumble Bee, Cherry, Cleator, Clemenceau, Cordes, Crown King, Drake, Iron Springs, Kirkland, Skull Valley, Tip Top.

A Map of Yavapai County, Arizona contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Yavapai County, Arizona Courthouse Records

Yavapai County, Arizona Courthouse
Yavapai County, AZ Courthouse

The Yavapai County Courthouse is located in Prescott, Arizona. Learn More About State of Arizona Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Yavapai county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Yavapai County Clerk of Superior Court has Marriage and Divorce Records from 1865, has Probate Records from 1864 and has Court Records from 1865. The Clerk's office is responsible for all Superior Court action in Adoptions, Civil, Criminal, Probate, and Tax matters.
  • Yavapai County Recorder has Land Records from 1864. The County Recorder's Office creates public records, maintain said records to archival standards, and provide convenient access to these records for public viewing.
  • Yavapai County Treasurer collects all real and personal property taxes for the state, county and incorporated cities and towns, school districts, and then distributes them to the various jurisdictions.

Yavapai County, Arizona Census Records

Yavapai County, Arizona Vital Records

Yavapai County, Arizona Resources

Yavapai County, Arizona External Links

Search Millions of Military Records