Maricopa County, Arizona Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T16:31:59+00:00

Maricopa County, Arizona Genealogy Guide

Maricopa County, Arizona (Map It) was created on February 14, 1871 from parts of Pima County and Yavapai County. Maricopa county was named after the Maricopa Native American people.. Learn More About State of Arizona History

Maricopa County is bordered by La Paz County (west), Yuma County (west), Pima County (south), Pinal County (southeast), Gila County (east), Yavapai County (north).

Maricopa County Cities and Towns include Apache Junction (most of Apache Junction is in Pinal County), Avondale, Chandler, El Mirage, Glendale, Goodyear, Litchfield Park, Mesa, Peoria (part of Peoria is in Yavapai County), Phoenix, Scottsdale, Surprise, Tempe, Tolleson, Buckeye, Carefree, Cave Creek, Fountain Hills, Gila Bend, Gilbert, Guadalupe, Paradise Valley, Queen Creek (part of Queen Creek is in Pinal County) Wickenburg, Youngtown. Unincorporated Communities located in the county include Aguila, Anthem, Arlington, Circle City, Higley, Komatke, Laveen, Liberty, Mobile, Morristown, Palo Verde, Theba, Tonopah, Tortilla Flat, Waddell, Wintersburg, Wittmann.

A Map of Maricopa County, Arizona contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Maricopa County, Arizona Courthouse Records

Maricopa County, Arizona Courthouse
Maricopa County, AZ Courthouse

The Maricopa County Courthouse is located in Phoenix, Arizona. Learn More About State of Arizona Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Maricopa county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Maricopa County Clerk of Superior Court has Marriage and Divorce Records from 1871, has Probate Records from 1871 and has Court Records from 1878. The Clerk's office is responsible for all Superior Court action in Adoptions, Civil, Criminal, Probate, and Tax matters.
  • Maricopa County Recorder has Land Records from 1871. The County Recorder's Office creates public records, maintain said records to archival standards, and provide convenient access to these records for public viewing.
  • Maricopa County Treasurer collects all real and personal property taxes for the state, county and incorporated cities and towns, school districts, and then distributes them to the various jurisdictions.

Maricopa County, Arizona Census Records

Maricopa County, Arizona Vital Records

Maricopa County, Arizona Resources

Maricopa County, Arizona External Links

Search Millions of Military Records