Swain County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Swain County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1871 from Jackson County and Macon County. This county was named for David Lowry Swain (1801–1868), a governor of North Carolina and president of the University of North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Swain County is bordered by Sevier County, Tennessee (north), Haywood County (east), Jackson County (southeast), Macon County (south), Graham County (southwest), Blount County, Tennessee (northwest).

Swain County Cities and Towns include Bryson City, Cherokee, Whittier. A Map of Swain County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Swain County Townships include Charleston, Forney Creek, Nantahala. View a Map of Swain County Townships.

Swain County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Swain County, North Carolina Courthouse
Swain County, NC Courthouse

Old Swain County Courthouse

The Swain County Courthouse is located in Bryson City, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Swain county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Swain County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1879 by fire. some earlier records were destroyed. On January 7, 1908 the Courthouse was burned by rioters. No records were saved.

  • Swain County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from ?, Marriage Records from 1871, Death Records from ? and Land Records from 1871. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Swain County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1871, Court Records from 1871 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Swain County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Swain Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Swain County, North Carolina Census Records

Swain County, North Carolina Vital Records

Swain County, North Carolina Resources

Swain County, North Carolina External Links