Edgecombe County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Edgecombe County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1741 from Bertie County. This county was named for Richard Edgcumbe, 1st Baron Edgcumbe (1680–1758), a Lord High Treasurer and Paymaster-General for Ireland . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Edgecombe County is bordered by Halifax County (northeast), Martin County (east), Pitt County (southeast), Wilson County (southwest), Nash County (northwest).

Edgecombe County Cities and Towns include Conetoe, Leggett, Macclesfield, Pinetops, Princeville, RockyMount, Sharpsburg, Speed, Tarboro, Whitakers. A Map of Edgecombe County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Edgecombe County Townships include both numbered and named: 1 (Tarboro), 2 (Lower Conetoe), 3 (Upper Conetoe), 4 (Deep Creek), 5 (Lower Fishing Creek), 6 (Upper Fishing Creek), 7 (Swift Creek), 8 (Sparta), 9 (Otter Creek), 10 (Lower Town Creek), 11 (Walnut Creek), 12 (Rocky Mount), 13 (Cokey), and 14 (Upper Town Creek) . View a Map of Edgecombe County Townships.

Edgecombe County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Edgecombe County, North Carolina Courthouse
Edgecombe County, NC Courthouse

The Edgecombe County Courthouse is located in Tarboro, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Edgecombe county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Edgecombe County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Land records prior to 1759 are among those of Halifax County.

  • Edgecombe County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1760, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1732. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Edgecombe County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1730, Court Records from 1744 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Edgecombe County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Edgecombe Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Edgecombe County, North Carolina Census Records

Edgecombe County, North Carolina Vital Records

Edgecombe County, North Carolina Resources

Edgecombe County, North Carolina External Links