Marshall County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

Marshall County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 9, 1836 from Monroe County. The county was named in honor of John Marshall, Chief Justice of the United States who shaped the Supreme Court's power . Learn More About State of Mississippi History

Marshall County is bordered by Fayette County, Tennessee (north), Benton County (east), Union County (southeast), Lafayette County (south), Tate County (southwest), De Soto County (west) and Shelby County, Tennessee (northwest).

Marshall County Cities and Towns include Holly Springs, Byhalia, Potts Camp.

A Map of Marshall County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Marshall County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Marshall County, Mississippi Courthouse
Marshall County, MS Courthouse

The Marshall County Courthouse is located in Holly Springs, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marshall county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Marshall County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1856, Probate Records from 1836 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Marshall County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1836 and Court Records from 1839. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Marshall County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Marshall County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Marshall County, Mississippi Census Records

Marshall County, Mississippi Vital Records

Marshall County, Mississippi Resources

Marshall County, Mississippi External Links