Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy Guide2016-06-30T16:01:13+00:00

Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy Guide

Marshall County, Iowa (Map It) was created on January 13, 1846 (Organized in 1849) from Unorganized Territory. Marshall County was named in honor of John Marshall, the Chief Justice of the United States Learn More About State of Iowa History

Marshall County is bordered by Hardin County (northwest), Grundy County (northeast), Tama County (east), Jasper County (south), Story County (west).

Marshall County Cities and Towns include Albion, Clemons, Ferguson, Gilman, Haverhill, Laurel, Le Grand, Liscomb, Marshalltown, Melbourne, Rhodes, St. Anthony, State Center.

A Marshall County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Marshall County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Marshall County, Iowa Courthouse
Marshall County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Marshall County Courthouse is located in Marshalltown, Iowa. Marshall County was attached to Jasper County for a breif time. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marshall county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Marshall County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1850 and has Land Records from 1850. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Marshall County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1851and has Court Records from 1854. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Marshall County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Marshall County, Iowa Census Records

Marshall County, Iowa Vital Records

Marshall County, Iowa Resources

Marshall County, Iowa External Links

Search Millions of Military Records