Lyon County, Iowa Genealogy Guide

Lyon County, Iowa (Map It) was created on January 15, 1851 (Organized in 1872) from Unorganized Territory. Lyon County was named in honor of Nathaniel Lyon (1818–1861), brigadier general in the Mexican and Seminole Wars. Lyon was killed while leading the First Iowa Infantry at the Battle of Wilson's Creek in Missouri. This was the first battle in which Iowa troops took part in the American Civil War. Learn More About State of Iowa History

Lyon County is bordered by Rock County, Illinois (north), Nobles County, Illinois (northeast), Osceola County (east), Sioux County (south), Lincoln County, South Dakota (west), Minnehaha County, South Dakota (northwest).

Lyon County Cities and Towns include Alvord, Beloit, Doon, George, Granite, Klondike, Inwood, Larchwood, Lester, Little Rock, Rock Rapids.

A Lyon County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lyon County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Lyon County, Iowa Courthouse
Lyon County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Lyon County Courthouse is located in Rock Rapids, Iowa. Lyon County was attached to Woodbury County for a breif time prior to organization January 1, 1872. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lyon county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lyon County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1872 and has Land Records from 1862. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Lyon County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1885and has Court Records from 1874. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Lyon County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Lyon County, Iowa Census Records

Lyon County, Iowa Vital Records

Lyon County, Iowa Resources

Lyon County, Iowa External Links