Tattnall County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Tattnall County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 5, 1801 from Montgomery County. Portions of Tattnall County were used to help create Toombs County in 1905 and Candler County and Evans County counties in 1914. Tattnall County was named in honor of Josiah Tattnall (1764 - 1803), a U.S. Senator and the Governor of Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Tattnall County is bordered by  Candler County (north), Evans County (northeast), Liberty County ( east-southeast), Long County, Wayne County (south), Appling County (southwest), Toombs County (west)

A Map of Tattnall County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Tattnall County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Tattnall County, Georgia Courthouse
Tattnall County, GA Courthouse

The Tattnall County Courthouse is located in Reidsville, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Tattnall county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Tattnall County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1802 and Court Records from 1805. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Tattnall County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1806 and Probate Records from 1802.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Tattnall County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Tattnall County Assessors Office
  • The Tattnall County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Tattnall County, Georgia Census Records

Tattnall County, Georgia Vital Records

Tattnall County, Georgia Resources

Tattnall County, Georgia External Links