Alabama Counties and Historical Facts2019-01-11T05:50:32+00:00

Alabama Counties and Historical Facts

Alabama Counties were first created under the Mississippi Territory, and after that the Alabama Territory. The State of Alabama currently contains 67 counties.

Washington County was the first county created on June 4, 1800. The last county to be formed was Houston County on February 9, 1903. Jefferson County has the largest population (658,466), and Greene County (9,045) has the lowest, according to the 2010 Census.

Both the quantity of records and the quality of records can be quite different from one county to the next. Some are fairly complete, and others are missing large chunks of information. Some have also disappeared entirely.

List of Alabama Extinct Counties

Alabama has counties that no longer are in existence. They were organized by the state, provincial, or territorial government.

A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

These counties need to be look at when conducting family tree research. Pay attention where the courthouse records went to if the county was eliminated or joined with some other county.

The below Alabama counties no longer exist:

Baine County, Alabama

Created December 7, 1866 from Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, DeKalb, Marshall and St. Clair Counties. It was abolished December 3, 1867 and re-established as Etowah County on December 1, 1868.

Baker County, Alabama

Created on December 30, 1868 from Autauga, Bibb, Perry and Shelby counties. Renamed Chilton County on December 17, 1874.

Benton County, Alabama

Created on December 18, 1832 from former Creek Indian territory and named for Colonel Thomas Hart Benton. Its county seat was  Jacksonville.

It was renamed Calhoun County on January 29, 1858, in honor of John C. Calhoun of South Carolina. In June of 1900, The county seat was moved to Anniston.

Cahawba (Cahaba) County, Alabama

Created February 12, 1818 from Monroe and Montgomery counties. Renamed to Bibb County on December 4, 1820.

Jones County, Alabama

Established on February 4, 1867, re-established as Sanford County on October 8, 1868. Renamed Lamar County on February 8, 1877.

Hancock County, Alabama

created on February 12, 1850 from part of Walker County. it was renamed Winston County on January 22, 1858.

Sanford County, Alabama

(Formed in 1867 as Jones County, renamed Sanford County in 1868, renamed Lamar County in 1877)

List of Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

burned county courthouseThe harm to Alabama courthouses drastically has a bearing on genealogists in just about every way. Not only are these historic structures torn from our lifetimes, so are the documents they housed: marriage, wills, probate, land records, among others.

Once destroyed they are destroyed forever. Even though they have already been put on mircofilm, computers and film burn up too.

The most heartbreaking side of this is the reason why virtually all of our courthouses are destroyed from arsonist.

However, not all records were damaged or lost. Many Alabama counties have endured a loss of records due to courthouse fires, floods, and theft.

  • Butler Co. Courthouse – Greenville (aka Butlersville) A courthouse fire in April 1853, destroyed all early records, however, including maps of the town that may have referenced Butlersville.
  • Calhoun Co. Courthouse – Anniston – 1861, 1895
  • Cherokee Co. Courthouse – Fort Payne – 1882, 1895
  • Chilton Co. Courthouse – Clanton – 1870
  • Choctaw Co. Courthouse – Butler – 1859, 1871
  • Clay Co. Courthouse – Ashland – 1875
  • Coffee Co. Courthouse – Elba – 1851, 1863
  • Conecuh Co. Courthouse – Evergreen – 1868, 1875, 1885, 1895
  • Covington Co. Courthouse – Andalusia – 1895
  • Crenshaw Co. Courthouse – Luverne – 1898
  • Dale Co. Courthouse – Ozark – 1869, 1884
  • Escambia Co. Courthouse – Brewton – 1868
  • Fayette Co. Courthouse – Fayette – 1866
  • Franklin Co. Courthouse – Russellville – 1890
  • Geneva Co. Courthouse – Geneva – 1898
  • Greene Co. Courthouse – Eutaw 1868
  • Jackson Co. Courthouse – Scottsboro – 1864
  • Lamar Co. Courthouse – Vernon – 1866
  • Lawrence Co. Courthouse – Moulton – 1859
  • Limestone Co. Courthouse – Athens – 1862
  • Marengo Co. Courthouse – Linden – 1848, 1965
  • Marion Co. Courthouse – Hamilton – 1866
  • Mobile Co. Courthouse – Mobile – 1823, 1840, 1872
  • Morgan Co. Courthouse – Decatur – 1925, 1938
  • Pickens Co. Courthouse – Carrollton – 1876
  • Pike Co. Courthouse – Troy – 1828
  • Randolph Co. Courthouse – Wedowee – 1896
  • Sumter Co. Courthouse – Livingston – 1901
  • Walker Co. Courthouse – Jasper – 1865, 1877, 1896, 1932
  • Winston Co. Courthouse – Double Springs – 1891

List of Alabama Counties

CountyDate FormedParent CountyCounty Seat
Autauga1818Montgomery CountyPrattville
Baldwin1809Washington County and West FloridaBay Minette
Barbour1832former Creek Indian territory and a portion of Pike CountyClayton
Bibb1818Monroe and Montgomery Counties (as Cahawba County)Centreville
Blount1818Montgomery County and Creek Indian territoriesOneonta
Bullock1866Barbour, Macon, Montgomery and Pike CountiesUnion Springs
Butler1819parts of Monroe County and Conecuh CountyGreenville
Calhoun1832St. Clair County (as Benton County)Anniston
Chambers1832Montgomery and Shelby CountiesLaFayette
Cherokee1836Cherokee Indian territoryCentre
Chilton1868Autauga, Bibb, Perry and Shelby CountiesClanton
Choctaw1847Sumter and Washington CountiesButler
Clarke1812Mississippi TerritoryGrove Hill
Clay1866Randolph, TalladegaAshland
Cleburne1866Calhoun, Randolph, TalladegaHeflin
Coffee1841DaleElba & Enterprise
Coosa1832Montgomery and Shelby CountiesRockford
Covington1821briefly renamed JonesAndalusia
Crenshaw1866Butler, Coffee, Covington, Pike, LowndesLuverne
Cullman1877Blount, Morgan, WinstonCullman
Dale1824Covington, HenryOzark
Dallas1814Creek NationSelma
DeKalb1836Cherokee NationFort Payne
Elmore1866Autauga, Coosa, Montgomery, TallapoosaWetumpka
Escambia1868Baldwin, ConecuhBrewton
Etowah1866originally BaineGadsden
Fayette1824Tuscaloosa, MarionFayette
Franklin1818Cherokee & Chickasaw NationsRussellville
Geneva1868Dale, Henry, CoffeeGeneva
Greene1819Marengo, TuscaloosaEutaw
Hale1867Greene, Marengo, Perry, TuscaloosaGreensboro
Houston1903Dale, Geneva, HenryDothan
Jackson1819Cherokee NationScottsboro
Lamar1867Marion, Fayette, PickensVernon
Lauderdale1818Cherokee & Chickasaw NationsFlorence
Lawrence1818Cherokee & Chickasaw NationsMoulton
Lee1866Chambers, Macon, Russell, TallapoosaOpelika
Limestone1818Cherokee & Chickasaw NationsAthens
Lowndes1830Butler, Dallas, MontgomeryHayneville
Macon1832Creek NationTuskegee
Madison1808Cherokee & Chickasaw NationsHuntsville
Marengo1818Choctaw NationLinden
Marshall1836Blount, Jackson, Cherokee NationGuntersville
Mobile1813West FloridaMobile
Monroe1815Creek Nation WashingtonMonroeville
Morgan1818Cherokee NationDecatur
Pike1821Henry, MontgomeryTroy
Randolph1832Creek NationWedowee
Russell1832Creek NationPhenix City
Shelby1818ShelbyAshville & Pell City
St. Clair1818MontgomeryColumbiana
Sumter1832Choctaw NationLivingston
Talladega1832Creek NationTalladega
Tallapoosa1832Montgomery and Shelby CountiesDadeville
Tuscaloosa1818Cherokee & Choctaw NationsTuscaloosa
Walker1824Marion, TuscaloosaJasper
Washington1800Mississippi TerritoryChatom
Wilcox1819Monroe, DallasCamden
Winston1850WalkerDouble Springs

Leave A Comment