Houston County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Houston County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 9, 1903 from parts of Dale County, Geneva County and Henry County. Houston county was named in honor of George S. Houston (1811–1879), 24th Governor of Alabama and U.S. Congressman. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Houston County is bordered by Henry County (north), Early County, Georgia (east), Seminole County, Georgia (southeast), Jackson County, Florida (south), Geneva County (west), Dale County (northwest).

Houston County Cities and Towns include Ashford, Avon, Columbia, Cottonwood, Cowarts, Dothan, Gordon, Kinsey, Madrid, Rehobeth, Taylor, Webb.

A Map of Houston County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Houston County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Houston County, Alabama Courthouse
Houston County, AL Courthouse

The Houston County Courthouse is located in Dothan, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Houston county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Houston County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1903 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Houston County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1903, Probate Records from 1903 and Land Records from 1903. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Houston Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Houston County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908, Death records from 1908.

Houston County, Alabama Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Alabama Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Houston County, Alabama Vital Records

Houston County, Alabama Resources

Houston County, Alabama External Links