Chambers County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Chambers County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 18, 1832 from former Creek Indian territory in the Creek Cession of 1832. Chambers county was named in honor of Henry Chambers, a U.S. Senator from Alabama (1825-26). Learn More About State of Alabama History

Chambers County is bordered by Randolph County (north), Troup County, Georgia (east), Harris County, Georgia (southeast), Lee County (south), Tallapoosa County (west)

Chambers County Cities and Towns include Cusseta, Five Points, Huguley, La Fayette, Lanett, Oak Bowery, Valley, Waverly.

A Map of Chambers County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chambers County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Chambers County, Alabama Courthouse
Chambers County, AL Courthouse

The Chambers County Courthouse is located in LaFayette, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chambers county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Chambers County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1833 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Chambers County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1853, Probate Records from 1833 and Land Records from 1833. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Chambers County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Chambers County Health Department has Birth and Death Records

Chambers County, Alabama Census Records

Chambers County, Alabama Vital Records

Chambers County, Alabama Resources

Chambers County, Alabama External Links