New York Government records cover a broad range of genealogy subject areas that can help you as part of your research, such as land ownership, courts, taxes, and naturalization’s. Given that New York court records cover such a wide selection of topics, they could aid you in many different ways. As an example, they could aid you in finding ancestors’ residences, identify occupations, locate financial information, determine citizenship status, or shed light on relationships between individuals. The whole thing relies upon on the type of court records that the ancestors” names show up in. For Definitions of all court terms see the Genealogy Encyclopedia.

New York Courthouse records change extensively from county to county in both level of quality and volume. You will find different kinds of court records that are most likely to possess information related for your genealogical research below.

New York Court Records

New York Land Records

See Also Guide to U.S. Land Records Research

New York Probate Records

See Also Guide to U.S. Probate Records Research

New York Tax Records

See Also Guide to U.S. Tax Records Research

New York Immigration & Naturalization Records

See Also Guide to U.S. Immigration Records Research

New York County & City Government Links

New York contains 62 counties. Each county is the local level of government within its borders. Five of New York’s counties are coterminous with the five boroughs of New York City and do not have functioning county governments, except for a few borough officials. New York City is considered the county seat of these five counties: New York County (Manhattan), Kings County (Brooklyn), Bronx County (The Bronx), Richmond County (Staten Island), and Queens County (Queens).

The links in the table below link to county and city government offices and is limited to government-maintained websites. If you know of a New York county that has an official government web site but is not linked, or if the link is in error, please contact us so we may edit our database. New York State Government is located in Albany.

State of New York County & City Government Links


County Seat




County Seat


Albany Albany Niagara Lockport
Allegany Belmont Oneida Utica
Bronx New York City Onondaga Syracuse
Broome Binghamton Ontario Canandaigua
Cattaraugus Little Valley Orange Goshen
Cayuga Auburn Orleans Albion
Chautauqua Mayville Oswego Oswego
Chemung Elmira Otsego Cooperstown
Chenango Norwich Putnam Carmel
Clinton Plattsburgh Queens New York City
Columbia Hudson Rensselaer Troy
Cortland Cortland Richmond New York City
Delaware Delhi Rockland New City
Dutchess Poughkeepsie Saratoga Canton
Erie Buffalo Schenectady Ballston Spa
Essex Elizabethtown Schoharie Schenectady
Franklin Malone Schuyler Schoharie
Fulton Johnstown Seneca Watkins Glen
Genesee Batavia St Lawrence Ovid / Waterloo
Greene Catskill Steuben Bath
Hamilton Lake Pleasant Suffolk Riverhead
Herkimer Herkimer Sullivan Monticello
Jefferson Watertown Tioga Owego
Kings New York City Tompkins Ithaca
Lewis Lowville Ulster Kingston
Livingston Geneseo Warren Queensbury
Madison Wampsville Washington Fort Edward
Monroe Rochester Wayne Lyons
Montgomery Fonda Westchester White Plains
Nassau Mineola Wyoming Warsaw
New York New York City Yates Penn Yan